Sunday, March 1, 2009

Managing Multiple Opened Workbooks

Windows-> Arrange
To undo the arrangement, maximize button
Windows-> Hide
Windows-> Unhide

Entering a Formula That Referencing Data from Multiple Workbooks

  • =[Workbook Name]Sheet Reference!Cell Range

  • To create a formula in one workbook to reference cell B21 on the Summary worksheet of the Sales.xls workbook

=[Sales.xls]Summary!B21

  • If the workbook name or sheet name contains one or more spaces, enclose the entire workbook name and sheet name reference in single quotation marks.

='[US Sales.xls]Summary'!B21

  • If one of the workbooks is in different folder,

='C:\My Documents\Domestic Sales\[US Sales.xls]Summary'!B21

Creating and Saving a Custom Workbook Template

  • Remove the values and text that will changev each time you create a workbook using your customized template
  • Be careful not to delete the formulas
  • replace variable data values with zeros
  • File-> Save As
  • Save As Type-> Template



Consolidating Data from Multiple Worksheets Using Consolidate Dialogue Box

Data-> Consolidate


Copying information across worksheets

To copy the values and formats from the January worksheet across the worksheet group

Edit-> Fill-> Across Worksheets




Consolidating data from multiple worksheets using a 3-D reference

  • = Worksheet Range!Cell Range

= SUM(Sheet1:Sheet4!B21)

This formula adds the values in cell B21 on the worksheets between Sheet 1 and Sheet 4

  • To sum the amount of tuition paid for a year





Create cell references to other worksheets

To insert the cell reference to the January worksheet in the February worksheet




Entering a formula that references another worksheet

  • To develop a formula that references cell D10 in the Sales worksheet

=Sales!D10

The exclamation point separates the sheet reference (Sales) from the cell reference (D10).

  • If a worksheet name contains one or more spaces, enclose the sheet name in single quotation mark.

= 'Sales Data'!D10

To enclose the sheet name in single quotation marks

  • To create a formula that adds total sales from two worksheets

=Domestic!B10 + International!B8

Grouping worksheets

To select an adjacent group, press and hold the Shift key





To select a non adjacent group, press and hold the Ctrl key


Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Setting Up a Workbook (Part Two)

Excel techniques used:

Insert or delete a cell

  • Home/ cells/ insert/ insert cells
  • Home/ cells/ delete/ delete cells

Move a group of cells to a new location

Zoom in or out on a worksheet

Zoom in or out to fill the program window

  • View/ zoom/ zoom to selection

Change to another open workbook

  • View/ window/ switch windows
Arrange all open workbooks in the program window
  • View/ window/ arrange all
Ad, move, or remove a button to the Quick Access Toolbar
  • Customize quick access toolbar/ more commands






(Zoom in by clicking the pictures)

Setting Up a Workbook (Part One)

Excel techniques used:

Open, create, and save a workbook
  • Microsoft office button
  • Quick access toolbar
Set file properties
  • Microsoft office button/ prepare/ properties
Define custom properties
  • Microsoft office button/ prepare/ properties/ property views and options down arrow/ advanced properties/ custom
Display, create, and rename a worksheet

Copy a worksheet to another workbook
  • Move or copy dialog box
Change the order of worksheets in a workbook

Hide, unhide, and delete a worksheet

Change a row's height or column's width

Insert, delete, hide, or unhide a column or row








(Zoom in by clicking the pictures)

Monday, July 21, 2008

Working with Multiple Worksheets and Workbooks: Tracking Cash Flows (Part Two)

Excel techniques used:

Use data from multiple workbooks
  • Create a summary workbook
  • View the list of linked workbooks
Using lookup tables
  • Setup a lookup table and insert the VLOOKUP function

Create and use an Excel workspace






(Zoom in by clicking the pictures)